Paper accepted at MDPI Journal of Applied Science in the Topical Collection of Innovation in Information Security

Published: Dec 8, 2022
The following paper has been accepted at the MDPI Journal of Applied Science (APPLSCI):
  • Title: The eIDAS Regulation: A Survey of Technological Trends for European Electronic Identity Schemes
  • Author: Amir Sharif, Matteo Ranzi, Roberto Carbone, Giada Sciarretta, Francesco Antonio Marino, Silvio Ranise
  • Abstract: The eIDAS regulation aims to provide an interoperable European framework to enable EU citizens to authenticate and communicate with services of other Member States by using their national electronic identity. While a number of high-level requirements (e.g., related to privacy and security) are established to make interoperability among Member States possible, the eIDAS regulation does not explicitly specify the technologies that can be adopted during the development phase to meet the requirements as mentioned earlier. To the best of our knowledge, there is no work available in the literature investigating the technological trends within the notified eIDAS electronic identity schemes used by Member States. To fill this gap, this paper analyzes how the different technological trends of notified schemes satisfy the requirements of the eIDAS regulation. To do this, we define a set of research questions that allow us to investigate the correlations between different design dimensions such as security, privacy, and usability. Based on these findings, we provide a set of lessons learned that would be valuable to the security community, as they can provide useful insights on how to more efficiently protect interoperable national digital identities. Furthermore, we provide a brief overview regarding the new eIDAS regulation (eIDAS 2.0) that aims to provide a more privacy-preserving electronic identity solution by moving from a centralized approach to a decentralized one.
  • DOI: 10.3390/app122412679
  • Complementary Material: Link

About the journal

Involved People

Carbone Roberto

Roberto Carbone

Marino Francesco Antonio

Francesco Antonio Marino

Ranise Silvio

Silvio Ranise

Ranzi Matteo

Matteo Ranzi

Sciarretta Giada

Giada Sciarretta

Sharif Amir

Amir Sharif